Press Releases

Turning Points Board of Directors Elect New Executive Committee

Updated on July 17th, 2018 Written by Turning Points

BRADENTON – The Turning Points Board of Directors elected a new Executive Committee and also appointed a new member of the Board. Recently elected were: Mark DeHaan as President, Sarah Colandro as Vice-President, Erin VanderVeen as Vice President, Marisa Powers as Secretary, and John Shehorn as Treasurer, who is also the newest member of the Board. Not pictured is James Bruen, the At-Large member of Executive Committee.

Mark DeHaan was elected as President and has lived in Sarasota for the past 19 years, after relocating from Cherry Hill NJ. Born in Philadelphia PA, Mark attended Spring Garden College and spent most of his career as the National Sales Manager for a major wholesale merchandise distributor headquartered in Pennsylvania. In 2005, Mark began a new career in financial services with SunTrust Bank as a branch manager and later as Vice President and Community Development Manager for the West Florida Division, serving on several non-profits boards while in that role, including Turning Points.  Recently retired, Mark continues to be actively engaged in the Sarasota-Manatee community and serves as the Chair of the Skills Committee for CareerSource Suncoast. During his free time Mark enjoys golfing and traveling around the country to watch professional golf tournaments.

Sarah Colandro was elected as Vice President. She is a native Pennsylvanian and graduate of Marywood University and has held positions at some of the nation’s largest and most respected architectural firms. Currently a Principal at Fawley Bryant Architecture, she also serves on the Manatee Education Foundation Board of Directors and the Leadership Manatee Board of Governors. Sarah served on the National Board of Directors of the American Society of Interior Designers, and the International Board of Directors for the Interior Design Continuing Education Council.  She regularly volunteers at a variety of events for organizations in Manatee County.

Erin VanderVeen was also elected as Vice President and is Director of Operations at It Works!, where she leads the company’s international expansion program. Erin completed her bachelors at the University of Michigan and most recently, received her Corporate Master of Business Administration (CMBA) degree from Florida International University. Erin is one of the founding members of Cheers for Charity, a Women’s Giving Circle, supported through the Manatee Community Foundation.

Marisa Powers was elected as Secretary and is an attorney in Blalock Walters’ litigation and labor & employment practice areas. Her practice involves the litigation of businesses disputes, probate, estate and trust disputes, employment, and construction law related controversies. Marisa represents individuals, developers, builders, retail stores, non-profit organizations, title companies, and other businesses. Marisa is on the board of directors of the Manatee County Bar Association.  She has previously served as the co-chair of Turning Points’ Hats and Heels Luncheon. She is a native of Bradenton, Florida and a member of Cheers for Charity, a Women’s Giving Circle supported through the Manatee Community Foundation.

Please welcome John Shehorn to the Board of Directors as the new Treasurer. He spent his entire professional career with Deloitte, retiring as a partner in 2007, and having served a number of large public company clients in the energy and manufacturing sectors. Originally from the Midwest, John moved to Florida after his retirement, having owned a vacation home here for more than 20 years. He previously served on the board of Red Cross of Southwest Florida and currently serves on the board of Christ Church of Longboat Key.

James (Jim) Bruen was elected as the At-Large member of the Executive Committee. He is originally from Queens, NY, and is Veteran who served in the U.S. Navy. Jim and his wife, Jane Plitt, retired and moved here 12  years ago after a long career as director of business research at Eastman Kodak Co. in Rochester, N.Y. Jim filled an important role as Interim Director of the Manatee Community Foundation 2 year ago when they were in search of a new Executive Director. Jim and Jane were honored earlier this year the the Spirit of Manatee Award for Leadership. Jim is very involved in the community and services on the Boards of several non-profits, including the Manatee Community Foundation.

“This newly elected Board of Directors is committed to ensuring that Turning Points continues to bring the highest quality of services to those most in need in our community. They bring with them a wealth of knowledge and expertise in their fields,” says Adell Erozer Turning Points Executive Director. The remaining Turning Points Board of Directors are; Sandy Kirkpatrick, Rod Tait, Jeannie Slater, Dr. David Law, David Wells, Pat Osburn and Erika Lisch.